Michele De Lucchi

Born in Ferrara in 1951, Michele De Lucchi moved to Florence in the 70s, where he studied architecture – and started the design revolution. During his studies, inspired by the colours and shapes of pop culture, he founded the "Cavart" group, which created "radical design". From 1978-80, he developed projects with the Alchimia group and, together with Ettore Sottsass and Barbara Radice, founded the Memphis design movement, which broke with the rules of functionalism.

As an industrial designer in the 80s, he developed pioneering products for companies such as Artemide, Vitra, Philips, Siemens and Olivetti, for whom he was Director of Design for 10 years. He has completed a number of demanding projects throughout Europe with his architectural practice, working for such companies as Deutsche Bank or Telecom Italia. A particular focus of his creativity is his work in the sphere of culture, such as his designs for the Triennale Design Museum in Milan, the Palazzo delle Esposizioni in Rome and the Neue Museum Berlin. Most recently, Michele De Lucchi and his team have completed a large number of architectural projects in Georgia, such as the country's Ministry of the Interior and the Peace Bridge in Tiflis.

I designed the Tolomeo in 1986. Perhaps I ought to say that I invented it, as in point of fact the idea for a new mechanism came before the lamp was created.

The mechanism actually came about while watching the fishermen. It struck me that you can suspend a rod with something attached to it using a small lever arm and a cable. That was the frame of reference work I had in mind when I designed the Tolomeo.

CheckLink

Michele De Lucchi

Geboren 1951 in Ferrara, zog es Michele De Lucchi in den 70er Jahren nach Florenz, wo er Architektur studierte – und die Design-Revolution ausrief. Inspiriert von den Farben und Formen der Popkultur gründete er während seines Architekturstudiums die Gruppe „Cavart“, die „radikales Design“ entwarf. Von 1978-80 entwickelte er Projekte mit der Gruppe Alchimia und gründete zusammen mit Ettore Sottsass und Barbara Radice die Design-Bewegung Memphis, die mit den Regeln des Funktionalismus brach.

In den 80er Jahren entwickelte er als Industriedesigner wegweisende Produkte für Unternehmen wie Artemide, Vitra, Philips, Siemens oder Olivetti, die er 10 Jahre lang als Director of Design begleitete. Mit seinem Architekturbüro realisierte er in vielen europäischen Ländern anspruchsvolle Projekte – unter anderem für die Deutsche Bank oder Telecom Italia. Einen besonderen Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit bilden Arbeiten im Kulturbereich wie für das Triennale Design Museum in Mailand, den Palazzo delle Esposizioni in Rom oder das Neue Museum Berlin. In jüngster Zeit entwickelte Michele De Lucchi mit seinem Team zahlreiche Architekturprojekte in Georgien wie das Innenministerium des Landes oder die Friedensbrücke in Tiflis.

Ich habe die Leuchte Tolomeo 1986 designt. Vielleicht sollte ich eher sagen, dass ich sie erfunden habe, denn am Anfang stand die Idee für ihren Mechanismus.

Der Mechanismus entstand bei der Beobachtung von Anglern mit ihren Trabucchi, den uralten Fischergalgen, die in Apulien verbreitet sind und bei denen die Stangen, an denen das Netz befestigt ist, von Seilen gehalten werden. Es schien mir intelligent, dass man mit einem Hebelarm und einem Kabel eine Stange aufhängen kann, an der etwas befestigt wird. Das war mein Bezugsrahmen, als ich die Tolomeo entwarf.

CheckLink